Taking photos from a small airplane in Alaska

michaelbrochstein

I am scheduled (weather permitting) to take a flightseeing ride in a

small plane in Denali National Park at the beginning of September.

I've never done this before (that is, take photos from a small

fligthseeing plane) and was wondering what lens(es) you would choose

to use (and why?) to shoot the scenery and any other relevant advice

you might have to share?

Well, see if they will take the door off for you. They probably can't or won't in a sightseeing plane, but it is worth asking.

Vibration is the enemy. Don't lean on anything, if you do, you'll pick up the vibration. Use at least 1/250 of a second, preferrably faster, to get sharp pictures.

There is more UV at altitude. Use a UV or skylight filter.

What kind of airplane? I might be able to give you some specific advice.

I, admittedly, know next to nothing about such photography. However I have heard that serious photographers use a devise that is attached to the body/lens? that counterbalances some of the vibrations of the plane. I think it might be a gyroscope of some kind, but it looks like a large cylinder hanging on the bottom of the camera.

I also believe that, if at all possible, for better photos it's helpful to be open a window. There are obvious risks doing so; I recall reading here about a guy who was shooting with a Pentax 67, dropped it out of the plane, recovered it and it still worked fine! (although it did have a big dent).

I hope you have a great trip!