Switching back to Film and 4x5

jeff_plomley1

Hello everyone, I am a newbie to this forum and as well to large format photography. I started out with

35mm film, then spent 5 years trying to get medium format to work for landscape, then went back to

35mm film, then went to digital (full frame 35mm), and now I am about to do what I should have done

10 years ago-learn the art and craft of large format photography. I am a nature photographer with

interests in everything from high magnification imaging of insects, to landscape, to big cats. I have

done it all with everything from bellows with reveresed lenses to heavy artillery for birds and mammals.

However, my landscape work from 35mm and medium format always seemed to be lacking critical

sharpness over the depth I wanted. From 35mm film and digital, the critical detail for landscape was

notably absent at prints larger than 11x17 (as an aside, I do all my own printing on an Epson 7800). I

expected much better performance from full frame digital sensors in this regard, but alas have found

the optics to be the limiting factor in achieving the full potential from these sensors. After picking up a

copy of Jack Dykinga's Large Format Nature Photography, I am now convinced that I should stop

wasting my time and money on digital and invest in a system that will not be obsolete every 18 months

and at the same time provide the resolution and depth that only 4x5 can.

So here are a few questions for the experienced users on this forum. I am leaning towards an Ebony

SV45Ti. As a beginner, I realize this is more camera than I will initially need, however I want something

that I can grow into as opposed to having to replace it when I outgrow it. I envision using roll film

holders as well. I would be interested to hear from users of this camera about your experiences, good

and bad.

For lenses, I have found it difficult to find really good reviews which compare the Nikkor, Schneider, and