Summicron50/2 Radioactive?

drew bedo

<p>Being a Large Format photographer I am not very familiar with the Leica world.<br /><br>

I have inherited a 50mm/f-2 Summicron in collapsing LTM screw mount; S/N <em>4164121.</em> It has aLeica UV filter and Leica metal lens cap. In excellent cosmetic condition and working order.<br>

Is this a radioactive lens? <br>

Is it a desirable or collectable item? <br>

What is its approximat value for insurance?</p>

<p>Serial number is inappropriate for the period this lens was produced. Only the earliest were radioactive. I suspect if your lens does not have a strong yellowish colour cast it is not radioactive. Radioactive is not a benefit, and most were not radioactive.<br>

Yes, radioactive or not, it is collectible and desirable, but not extremely valuable.<br>

Value is almost totally on cosmetic and optical condition. It can vary from virtually nothing to whatever people are paying on ebay, as external surfaces are delicate and easily damaged..<br>

You could probably get away with putting $500 on it for insurance, but check the serial number again. I don't think Leica has made over 4 million lenses, although I could be wrong. </p>

<p>The staining of the glass from radioactivity is more a tea brown. <br>

The condition of the front glass totally determines value. The coating is soft (Zeiss had the patent on hard coatings), will scratch or rub off if you clean the lens with ANY pressure. Plus, the glass under that coating is soft flint glass (lead crystal), which also scratches incredibly easily. So many were ruined by cleaning with neckties.</p>

<p>James and John: Thanks for the info. You are correctabout the wrong S/N. Just double checked and the actual number on the lens is 1364121. The front element is prestene with a color cast from coating.</p>