Stereo images

Never tried stereo images before, though I have no problem viewing them with either the relaxed or cross-eyed methods. This is a slider I made today. It's definitely version 0.9, needing a capture method and some stops. Right now you have to be a bit careful since nothing prevents the camera from falling or sliding out, but it proves the concept. It's just aluminum U-channel for protecting the edges of 3/4" plywood, plus a couple suitably drilled and tapped blocks. The scale is for the 1/30 baseline number.

299872693_CameraSlider.thumb.jpg.f06f4c6ac77ce427b30815dca176768d.jpg

First try was my woodpile, using StereoPhoto Maker to put the images together.

55585742_woodpilestsm.thumb.jpg.20944b401fcc71de6d5bbeff453c6ee3.jpg

Scale your monitor so the image pair is about 6" across and use the relaxed eye method. Hey, it's my first try at this. Hopefully I can find something more interesting for future endeavors.

There seems to be an overabundance of info and opinions on the best baseline distance. The 1/30 rule is popular, but some aim for the interocular distance and some calculate everything (Bercovitz formula) and can use larger distances when the conditions are right. I haven't slogged through the math, and probably never will, but it's easy enough to shoot the left image, then a selection of the other at various distances. IMO, with too great a baseline, objects tend to look like cardboard cutouts at various distances. That reminds me, I should add an extra mark on my scale for the average interocular distance. :)

Looks pretty good! I scaled to 67%, take my glasses (about -6) off, and it is pretty easy to focus on it.

Reminds me, there is a Hocus Focus (find 6 differences between these pictures) section in our newspaper.

I usually find five the regular, way, then look at the two like a stereo pair. Differences are very easy to see.

Also, it is supposed to be possible to generate stereo pairs from a Lytro camera, but I never did it.

-- glen