Stacking filters

photo_question

<p>Anyone have any experience stacking B+W ND filters and/or Circular Polarizers? how about with a Cokin P holder in addition?<br>

<br />At what focal lengths should I expect vignetting to be an issue in those circumstances? my lenses are predominantly in the <strong>55</strong>mm to <strong>58</strong>mm<strong> filter thread</strong> range, would getting a <strong>77</strong>mm filter avoid the vignetting?<br>

<br />Grateful for any advice, thanks.<br /><br /></p>

<p> </p>

<p>I have used two ND filters and a polarizer on my Pentax medium format camera without experiencing any vignetting, and these weren't the extra slim filters. I've no experience with Cokin filters. <br>

Basically, I think you need to experiment with your camera and lenses. Are you using a DSLR? Just put the filters in front of the lens, play with the aperture and inspect the results and draw your conclusions from there. </p>

<p>The vignetting point depends on many variables, but it is something easily ascertained at home. Just point the camera at a blank wall or ceiling and make two exposures, one at infinity and one at the closest focus available, at the smallest aperture on the lens. With a zoom, use the widest setting.</p>

<p>thanks for the replies, I shoot DSLR. </p>

<p>Actually I'm trying to decide what size filter I should purchase, I understand larger can be more universally applied with help from a step-up ring. But I wanted some opinions first, especially whether the size increase has the added benefit of mitigating vignetting.</p>

<p> </p>

<p>If it matters, larger filters will be more expensive. But, if you go the step-up ring route, then you buy a ring for each lens that fits a filter of, say, 77mm, then vignetting will be much less of an issue, as only the step-up ring will be in a possible position to cause vignetting.</p>