Southern California

cigardoc

<p>hi,<br>

i'm spending a couple of days in southern california, staying in newport beach, on business. i will have, in my estimation approximately 1-2 hours late afternoon on the first day, and about 6 hours of daylight on the 2nd day, to find some great landscape photo opportunities. <br>

this is my first time in this area, and therefore i don't know whether to concentrate my efforts along the coast, south or north, or head inland toward the mountains and/or desert, as time permits. <br>

i realize i can't do it all, and don't want to. any suggestions, favorite spots, out-of-the-way and/or unusual places to go?<br>

thanks</p>

<p>It would take close to 2 hours to get to Joshua Tree from NB, so given your time constraints, you might want to explore closer. Not too far from NB is Crystal Cove, and further down in San Diego County is La Jolla.</p>

<p>Also, check here for some local parks that offer some nice hiking trails, and good views of the surrounding landscape:<br>

http://www.ocparks.com/</p>

<p>It's going to depend somewhat on the weather. It's going to likely rain at least part of this weekend, be sunny/clear for a couple of days with some potential for rain on Thanksgiving. If the weather is nice, why not hit the beaches? A quick glance at The Photographers Ephemeris shows the sun setting over Catalina Island from Newport Beach around now. The Corona del Mar beaches offer some more rugged rocky terrain and are adjacent to Newport. I haven't spent a lot of time in the OC mountains so don't have any favorite or "secret" spots to recommend and heading into the higher country of the San Gabriels or San Bernardinos or out to the desert, like Joshua Tree will easily eat up a good chunk of your available time just in getting there.</p>