Shipping film.

Macman, what planet are you from? Of course Tri-X will be damaged by x-rays in sufficient dose. What's sufficient? BTSOOM, I'm no expert in radiation or radiation fogging of film. However: it's reasonably well known that US carry-on baggage x-rays won't damage Tri-X in a reasonable number of passes, but check bag x-rays sometimes damage film in a single pass ("sometimes" likely because not all bags are x-rayed at any given terminal).

Robert, within the US, it seems to work well to mark the packaging "Photographic Film -- No X-Ray" or similar, prominently on all faces of the box. During high security alerts, such a package might be opened for inspection, but if the tins are marked with original Kodak labeling and sealed with original tape, they're unlikely to open the tins (though they are likely to swab the exterior to test for whatever they're alerted over). For international mail, even to Canada, I wouldn't count on that label.

Simplest, if you're close to the border, might be to make arrangements to have the package sent to a UPS Store (formerly Mailboxes Etc.) on the US side for you to cross over and collect. Then you can deal with any customs issues (probably no big deal, based on value of old film) in person as well, and avoid border delays due to all Canada Post from outside the country going via a storage box in Ottawa.

In 1994 the National Association of Photographic Manufacturers in the USA? (NAPM)

conducted an extensive study - in?conjunction with the country's civil aviation body, the

FAA (Federal Aviation Agency) - on the effects of X-ray scanning on photographic Film.

Testing was conducted at the FAA's Technical Center in Atlantic City (New Jersey) using

machines identical to those in all FAA-controlled airports in the USA and representative of

models installed in all the world's major international airports. The NAPM tests were

conducted in co-operation with Kodak, Fuji, Agfa, Konica, Ilford and 3M who each