Sell my 7D to fund a 5D Mark III or keep it and buy a 6D?

michael_h4

<p>I consider myself a serious hobbyist, and this is the year I'm stepping up to full frame. I've been loving my 7D for nearly three years ever since I gave up my 20-year Nikon habit. Specifically, I love the fast frame rate (8FPS) for shooting wildlife and the many AF points. Those are both things that the 6D lacks. I also have a decent investment in high performance/high capacity CF cards. So I've decided that the only way I'd buy a 6D is if I were going to keep the 7D as my action/telephoto camera.<br /><br /><br>

For roughly the same amount of money, I could sell the 7D and step up to the 5D Mark III. I really like the build quality of the Mark III: The LCD is beautiful compared to the 6D. It has 6FPS and many more AF points-- essentially giving it all of the wildlife action capability of my 7D.<br /><br /><br>

Neither camera is going to make me a better photographer. The question is: Would you rather have two excellent camera bodies that serve different purposes or one absolutely awesome one that can do everything well? I'm especially interested in hearing from 7D owners and former 7D owners who have stepped up to one or both of these full frame cameras.</p>

<p> </p>

<p>I own the 7D and the 5D MkIII and previously owned the 5D MkII. The AF of the MkIII is so much more accurate and consistent than my 7D that my keeper rate for birds and wildlife tripled. I now shoot with my 500/f4 on the MkIII and a 70-200mm on my 7D. The 8-fps is nice, but your accuracy with the MkIII will be so much better that you won't miss it.</p>

<p>The 6D looks like a really good deal for landscape, low light, portrait and most other uses, but for wildlife, I think that the 5D MkIII will trump it.</p>

<p>It's nice to work with two bodies, but if I were budget limited and knowing what I know, I'd go with the 5D MkIII as my only body.</p>