Red streaks in images...why?

<p>Hello!<br>

I'm new at shooting film and I've come across some red streaks on many of my images and I was wondering if anyone can help me understand why this could be happening? I've seen it on high end film as well as cheapo cvs film. Does it have to do with my lenses? Something in the camera body? a setting?<br>

I've taken some pretty cool shots that I like but that red streak messes it up. I'll post an example in a bit, but if anyone can shed any light on this issue I would really appreciate it.</p>

<p>Canon AE-1 (not program)<br />24mm 2.8 lens<br />50 1.4 lens<br />Ektar 100, Fuji Slide Film and CVS film (films i've seen them appear in)<br>

I also tried out a co-workers Nikon N80 and I saw this happen ONCE when I used the flash...all the other images turned out great.<br>

Thanks in advance!</p><div>00ZKXe-398407684.thumb.jpg.ebebd188173a62e67ffe0237255b248c.jpg</div>

<p>The light seals are the black foam strips in the grooves at the top and bottom, and alongside the hinge, they perish and go sticky over time. It looks as if your problem is the hinge seal, which is not too difficult to replace, but all the seals including the mirror bumper should be done to avoid the material getting on to the focusing screen. A photo.net member posted a full set of instructions for this here: http://www.photo.net/classic-cameras-forum/00SVtt<br>

Alternatively you can get it done professionally.</p>

<p>The AE-1 is now at an age where just about every single one of them will need the film back light seals and mirror bumper pad foam replaced if they still have the original factory seals. I'm 99.9% certain that if you shoot a test roll outdoors in bright sun with the film back edges and ends covered with black electrical tape you will find that your red streaks are gone.</p>