Question about using flash at night

hasnr

HI, i am a landscape photographer, recently I am trying to learn about using flash for portraits. I have D610, and recently got yougnou 685 + the transmitter. I have one question. If you are using external flash (off camera), at night, in manual mode, Same F and shutter speed. If you use ISO 1000 and take picture and flash fires. Then you change ISO to 3000 and take picture under same settings, will the flash fire with less intensity because you are using high ISO? Is the TTL flash that intelligent? (I don't care about noise).

If not, whats the best and easy mode to use external flash.?

Thank you

Is the TTL flash that intelligent?

Not when you set it to manual mode.

Also not when it wanted to expose stronger but hit it's capacity i.e. had only half or a quarter the power you would have needed.

Otherwise it exposes for the ISO you set in TTL mode.

Most convenient manual use of off camera flash should be dialing it down via a wireless remote on your camera. + Trial & error according to your histogram. That approach might be a bit better when the reflection characteristic of your model could vary from shot to shot. due to dark hair and pale skin, jewelry or whatever and you are after consistent exposure.

But in general TTL seems to be quite awesome.

• Like 1

If you mean that the camera is in manual mode and the flash in i-TTL mode, then yes, the flash TTL control should respond to a change of camera ISO. Provided you have the YN 622N i-TTL transceiver. The RF-603N transceiver doesn't support TTL.

I say should, because my experience of Nikon's I-TTL hasn't been very positive to date, with exposures being quite inconsistent. Plus there's an issue with using flash at high ISO speeds. In that a flash varies its "power" by shortening the flash duration, and there's a limit to how short this light pulse can be made. You may well find that overexposure occurs at a high ISO and short flash distance.