Prints came out grey washed? Please help

I just made my first prints at home today. They did not come out as hoped. The whole paper is grey, the blacks aren't vibrant, and the

border that should be white from being covered by the eisle is grey as well. I think it could be my paper is just old? Or I mixed my

developer wrong?(I don't think so)I'm not to sure but I really could use some help. Thanks!!!!!<div>00dw6E-562994284.thumb.jpeg.e16f74eb0893008969849ce33260c260.jpeg</div>

I have no background in prints but three things come to mind.

First, is your fixer good and did you fix the print long enough?

Second, try to develop and fix a clean sheet of paper. It should come out bright white. If it is fogged it probably means

the paper is bad or some light got to it.

Third, is your safelight working properly?

<p>Looks a bit like the paper is fogged- by stray light perhaps as you were taking it out of the box. All work should really be done under a red light, and even that at least a yard away from the paper; another thing you might be doing is checking the development under a red light too soon after putting the paper in the tray. You should aim to leave the print at least 2 and a half minutes before putting it near any sort of light, and you should aim in the exposing of the paper to allow it at least the 2+ minutes in the 20deg C developer. Pulling a print before a reasonable time won't lead to a result you want.<br>

It is very difficult to offer any sensible advice however with so many variables! Good Luck.</p>