Point And Shoot for hiking

Discussion in 'Nikon' started by jenn photo, Nov 8, 2008.

1. I am a photographer and I have a D300. I love my camera but it is too heavy and bulky to bring with me when I go
    hiking, I would like to buy a good point and shoot from Nikon. I am not sure about what one to buy. I would love some
    advice, It is hard leaving my 300 at home but I am sure you can understand why I would.

Thank you

Jenn

2. ShunCheung

ShunCheung Administrator

To be frank, Nikon does not necessarily make the best point-and-shoot digicams.
    Since there is no lens compatibility issues with your D300 anyway, would you consider digicams from other brands such as Canon, Sony, etc.?

3. I'm a Nikon DSL user, but my point and shoot for the last year has been a Canon G9. Poke around and you will find quite a following, starting with Gordon Buck's blog: http://www.shutterbug.net/equipmentreviews/software_computers/0208whybrid/index1.html

While it is as capable as any point-an-shoot at producing blown-out highlights and noise, when used with the same care as a DSLR it produces excellent results. I have sold images taken with it to a county tourism bureau - it does just fine at ISO 80 or 100, which of course is fine for hiking outings. On a large screen it is possible, but difficult, to see the difference in image quality from a DSLR image. The G9 is limited at the wide angle end to about 35mm equivalent. The new G10 opens out to 28mm, I believe, while sacrificing the long end a bit.

4. The D40 with the kit lens or a small/light prime could be an alternative to a P&S. I own a D300, and got a D40 for P&S style shooting on the go.

5. Hi Jenn,

When weight is an issue for me I put a Nikkor 50mm f1.8 on my D300 and carry no other lens. A bit heavier than a
    P&S but you get a real camera in the deal. This lens is very light weight! Also innexpensive at $125.00 USD.

Best of luck in your descision, D

6. I'd seriously consider the Nikon P6000