Pictures on the LCD screen look way brighter than they really are

andrew_case

<p>Hello,<br>

I am having an issue where images on the LCD screen of my 7D look way brighter than they really are, meaning when I go to process the RAW file in light room.</p>

<p>Last night I was shooting at a fair while people I was with were on rides, and the pictures looked really amazing on the LCD screen, but then when I went to process them this morning, many of them were really dark.</p>

<p>Does the LCD screen apply some sort of processing to them before showing? It really messes me up because I am still learning how to shoot in low light situations so I was depending on the screen to adjust settings as I went. I was able to adjust the exposure and fill light in light room without losing too much image quality but it was still unnerving to see how different the images looked.</p>

<p>Thank you.</p>

<p>The rear LCD is not really intended to be a reliable indicator of the brightness (or the colors) of the actual capture. Making this even more the case, you may have noticed that on many more recent cameras the LCD brightness changes in response to the ambient light. </p>