Photographing artwork for reproductions

Hi there!

I'm a beginner photographer needing to photograph my paintings for high quality large reproductions.

My problem is, I can't seem to find the right setting on my EOS 6D Canon. I researched it and used the M RAW setting (fine) on a close

up setting. I tried this using a portrait lens and also a zoom lens, but the images are still not high quality enough to reproduce large

images. The company who does my prints need 300 DPI but they say I shouldn't try to convert the pics online as that will not make for

good reproductions.

Anyone have experience with photographing art for reproductions who can advise me? Thank so much!!!

Amanda

<p>You unfortunately don't mention what artwork is about (drawings, paintings, sculpture?) and what materials were used (shiny paint, polished metal?)<br /> For convenience sake (makes an easier starting point for the rest of my post) ) I'm assuming they're some kind of arcrylic paint based paintings.</p>

<p>Most important thing for getting proper artwork pictures is getting the lighting right.<br /> You don't want harsh direct light, as it will reflect in the paint, and could, if the paint has been applied in such a way that there is some kind of structure, when coming from the side, create all kind of unwanted shadows.<br /> The latter may of course be the exact thing you're after, but to keep things simple I'm assuming you're not.<br /> So normally should be diffused (which will help avoiding reflections) and coming from all side, or at least not from the front (again to avoid it reflecting in the paint, or glass in case of framed pictures/drawings)</p>