Photograhic Philanthropy/ Fundraising Advice Needed

dfperrault

<p>I have decided to commit the financial proceeds and use of my photos to non profit causes. I am a full time engineer, and have been doing photography on the side most of my life. Photography was never source of income for me. I am also trying to minimize the chances I will have to pay taxes on the money raised</p>

<p>I have the following questions and need advice:</p>

<p><strong><em>1. Alternative methods</em></strong> - Are there any methods that anyone can suggest I try? My current methods are listed below.</p>

<p><em><strong>2. Online sales via website -</strong></em> My website uses smug mug, and and I turn on e-sales easily. Does anyone have positive or negative experince doing e-sales via a website?</p>

<p><strong><em>3. Comments on website</em></strong> (<a href="http://www.dphoton.org">www.dphoton.org</a>) - Does my site have enough information to inform the viewer about my mission or to encorage them to buy a photo to support my causes?</p>

<p><strong> -----------------------------------------Current Methods---------------------------------------------------</strong><br>

I have listed my current methods below:</p>

<p><strong><em>1. Photo Auctions</em></strong><br>

I donate the photos to an NGO, they raise money by auctioning off the photos. I have had the most success with this method. The NGO can typically raise $500 dollars. One NGO rasied $50k, when bidders offered $5k/photo - for 10 photos.</p>

<p><strong><em>2. Doante Freelance Comepenstation to NGO</em></strong><br>