Photo-Flo

bobbyc

Once the emulsion is wet it doesnt really absorb much by the time you are rinsing in photoflo it is mostly saturated.

It is pretty much detergent so unless you chug the bottle I can't imagine you growing a third arm or dying.

MSDS is avalible at www.kodak.com

It has been awhile since I studied about this, but I remember something to the effect that

photo-flo might be one of the most dangerous chemicals in the darkroom if ingested--I

would see if you could find the "Friends of photography" book on the hazards of photography

Here is a "<a href="http://72.14.203.104/search?q=cache:AWZFt_MDf9cJ:www.forensi-tech.com/msds/photoflo.pdf+kodak+photoflo+msds&hl=en&gl=us&ct=clnk&cd=1">Link</a>" to the MSDS it has a health Rating of 1 Flame 1 and stabilty of 0. MSDS's are your friend you should review them for every chemical you use. And keep copies for any chemicals you store in bulk or have a high health risk. It is not anymore dangerous than the numerous other chemiclas you use daily. Again dont bath in it, or drink it, use common sense and PPE as required.

Some sources recommend that the wet time for film should be no more than twenty minutes total. I use the Ilford Method for washing to reduce wet time but even then I exceed the 20 minutes. Having said that I reduce the temperature during the stages of the wash which has the effect of firming up the emulsion somewhat.

Wetting agents are detergents so I doubt they are particularly harmful in the concentrations likely to be experienced.

As the previous post said "Photo-flo is just a detergent". I realised that about 40 years ago, and have never wasted my money on it since. I just use the cheapest brand of washing-up liquid I can find (preferably pine scented -mmmm!). Haven't noticed any detrimental effect on my negs so far, nor any adverse effects from keeping them in the wash for half an hour or more.