Pentax 67 ..need a change in camera ?

stella_blunt

<p>I have been using a pentax 67 exclusively for many years. It's great ..but I need something that is not as clunky and that dosn't need to lock up the mirror when hand held at low shutter speed for a good sharp image. Basically a lighter 6x7 camera that is not a rangfinder. Any suggestions??<br /> all suggestions welcome .<br /> Thanks</p>

<p>Hi -- Your comment about not locking up the mirror for slower speeds made me think of the Pentax 645, which has very effective mirror damping... to the point there was no lockup feature offered until they added it to the latest 645NII model for "political" reasons... not necessary, but it's on the feature list, and some folks wouldn't buy it otherwise.<br /> I still have my first P6x7, a non-MLU body purchased used in 1976, the year the MLU feature was added to that model. Honestly I have not missed the lockup, since for hand-holding I'm always using a shutter speed above the vulnerable range, and when the camera is on tripod it's generally used at shutter speeds below the vulnerable range. I also have a later 6x7 and two P67II bodies and have never used the MLU on any of them. The 67II has improved mirror damping too, I understand. I don't know of a lighter smaller 6x7 SLR.<br /> I think the P67II is a great camera, that I find very comfortable to use. I do have the P645NII as well, and suggest you might consider this model as less "clunky" and with no need for MLU for any speed, hand-held or otherwise. As a bonus, your P67 lenses can be used very conveniently, with auto diaphragm and all, just not auto-focus, though of course the camera's focus confirmation works fine with these lenses too. You just need the Pentax "Adapter 645 for 67 lens".</p>