Opaque filters for IR shooting

Hello

I've been using Kodak HIE with a deep red #29 filter with very good results.

However, since they are discontinuing it, I will be trying out the Rollie B/W

IR film. In an effort to simulate the Kodak look, I think I may have to go with

an opaque IR filter. What is the approximate filter factor for the opaque

filters?

Thanks

Russ<div>00NVkQ-40146884.jpg.e46f31af9cdb08b6e4e131a966f5f5c2.jpg</div>

A lot depends on your setup, but I'll pass on my experience with B+W 092 (89B equivalent)

versus 093 (87C equivalent). The latter is opaque and needs about 2-3 more stops than

the former with HIE. If you deal in filter factors, that's about a 4-8 multiple. I'm not sure

how it would work out with the Rollei film, but it's probably a good starting point for

bracketing. Good luck, and please let us know how it works, if you try it.

I just started shooting Rollie, I use a Hoya 72R opaque filter. My advice is, d/l the fact sheet on the film and read it well. It will give a lot of info, I am finding filter factors of about 6 to 8 depending on conditions. I was shooting SFX 200, same filter and found that with the filter on, and using my meter inside TTL, if I set it to the perfect exposure, I got exactly a perfect exposure, but SFX is in the low range of IR, and I think my meter is a little more IR sensitive, but this is only with SFX, you won't find same results with Rollie. 6 to 8 stops is what I am finding, but I am bracketing also, still practicing, so as I learn more I will contact you. The Hoya 72R is a great filter by the way, I got EXTREMELY good wood effect and results with SFX, which is only sensitve up to 740nm, Whrereas HIE was up at 900nm. Don't discount SFX, its a pretty good film and with the Hoya, it will give you some good results. Only thing I am working on is trying to reduce grain in final shots so I can enlarge to 11x14, but I am going to have to experiment with developers and such.