Now *this* is a Panorama stitch

I shot this panorama with a Canon Pro1 at a Louisville Bats AAA baseball game in April, handheld. It actually turned out much better than I would have thought. This is not the final version, as there are still a couple of places where seams can be easily found. I cloned out and smoothed out as many seams as I could and then printed it at 72 inches wide. Surprisingly good quality print too. This jpg is a little jagged because I had to compress this file heavily to make it a reasonable size for web viewing.)

Panoramas are fun!

http://stevelutzphoto.smugmug.com/photos/64714633-O.jpg

I have been stitching photos together now for a few years and still prefer to do it manually in Photoshop. This one took for ever as it had nearly 30 images to blend! I made it a lot more difficult by walking a few steps around the top of the building between each shot so that I could get a view from both sides.<div>00HF8O-31096384.thumb.jpg.bb9ef38303ba9169eaf29ba3e8a37319.jpg</div>

The 'out of focus' parts at the join of two images that have been stitched are as a results of poor 'blending'. After aligning up two adjacent image as best as possible (often includes using the transform tool in some way) I will use the erase tool to soften the actual join, sometimes the best result will be to use the soft edge brush erasure with about 50% opacity. If the two images are not perfectly aligned (usualy as a result of parallax errors) then the result will appear to be out of focus.