Nikon F2S Shutter Speed Issue

donald_sanderson

<p>Hi! I'm a newbie to photo.net but have been reading your forums for some time. I have recently purchased a 1973 black body F2S, my second F2, the first being a 72' F2 Photomic. After getting it home I noted a the shutter speed does not differ regardless of where I set the shutter speed dial (It checked out prior to purchasing it). Other than the bulb setting all settings work as if the shutter dial is set on an upper speed. This is also with or without the lens. I switched out the DP-2 finder with my DP-1 but found the results to be the same as well as replaced the batteries but nothing seems to make a difference.<br>

I paid about $150 for the camera and haven't taken it in for a CLA yet. Does anyone have any idea what this might be? I appreciate your thoughts on the matter. Cheers!</p>

<p> </p>

<p>The meter for your F2 is in the finder. I have an F2A and a F Photomic and the meter works perfectly however, I had both CLA'd by Camera Clinic (206-367-2440) in Seattle, Washington about 2 1/2 years ago. Doug did a fabulous job with both. He even converted the Photomic finder to use 1.5v batteries.<br /> Have you made sure your finder is attached to the body properly? If it isn't the shutter speed dial doesn't work correctly. I just tried it and all it did was rotate without resistance and did not give me a meter reading. Something else that affects the meter is the lens. Did you set the lens to f5.6 and do the Nikon shuffle to engage it to the pin in the prism so that it meters? Please let us know what you find out.<br>

There are some very knowledgeable guys at the Modern Film Camera forum. I would post your questions there, you may get more responses to your question.</p>