newbie to web design

joshschutz

<p>i have subscribed to lynda.com for the month. because i have no job and plenty of time on my hands right now, i figured i would expand my horizons and learn as much as possible about other aspects of photography.<br>

i had a buddy build me a website a few years ago. <a href="joshschutz.com">joshschutz.com</a> i have access to the blog and i find that wordpress is fairly intuitive. the rest of the site isnt what i want on many levels. i use godaddy for my domain. i believe i can use them for my host as well. anyways, i am planning on using dreamweaver to build my site. would you suggest another program, or maybe a different path all together to go down. like i said i am a newb to web design. to be honest with you i'm not sure if i could fully tell you the difference between flash and html. where should i start? <br>

thanks for the help everyone.</p>

<p>I use Dreamweaver and numerous others, but I like NetObjects Fusion for its superb handling of the organization of the site. It is very intuitive, and has a lot of built-in objects, like contact forms, and even a couple of photo galleries. Price is about $149. See www.netobjects.com. If you want to play with a freebie program, NVU (.com, I think) is a really nice product. I don't believe it manages all the pages, but I could be wrong. It is an excellent HTML editor.</p>

<p>Josh, I've used Dreamweaver for about a year and like it very much. I had no clue where to start in creating a site and was fortunate enough to come across an excellent book, <em>Web Publishing with HTML and CSS</em> by Laura Lemay and Rafe Colburn. I highly recommend it. You'll want to learn at least some basic HTML and CSS.</p>

<p>As for hosts, shop around. Many offer an assortment of free add-on programs to your site along with unlimited bandwidth and storage. Avoid hosts that drop advertising into your site. Regardless of the OS of your computer, I'd choose a host using either Linux or Unix servers.</p>