Mirror Lens

In my advancing years I have lost the desire for new cameras. I own or have used nearly every type marketed, from my Thornton Pickard to Nikon Z but my wife said I should buy something for myself this Christmas. One thing I have zero experience of, but have always fancied, is a mirror lens so I purchased a Tokina 500 f8 in mint condition with all accessories, including the filters. It is in F mount as I have digital and film Nikons ,AF and manual. Can you help me with hints how to get the best out of this lens, as basic as you like, every reply would be appreciated. Happy New Year, Charles.

Search this for a start

Cool Mirror Lenses You've Known and Loved -- or at least Liked

JDM, not on line at the moment is an enthusiast. I have the Nikon version of the same lens, light, small and handy for the focal length. Used with good light, useful. Mine takes special rear mounted filters which give a bit of extra control. They are known for donut shaped bokeh. Have fun with it!

• Like 1

A big issue with any long lens is thermals from the sun heating the ground. Or car bodies, if you like to stabilize yourself on the roof above the door like I do. These thermals can be used for good artistic effect, or can drive you nuts. Mirror lenses tend not to have a lot of contrast, though mine is a particular bad Meade 1000 mm f/11 from many years ago. Should probably try it on the Z6, but haven't yet. One thing it's quite good at is sunspots, with the proper solar filter solidly mounted of course.
  • Like 1

My thoughts.

• Check the mirror surfaces. If they are foggy, you won't get a good image. Although the lens is closed so you should not get the kind of stuff that collects on the mirror of reflector astronomical telescopes.

• If you have a Nikon Z camera, you have IBIS, and you now have a stabilized mirror lens. :D
  • With a 500mm lens, I would shoot at 1/1000 sec, or faster.