machine gun photography?

summitar

No, I am not referring to photos of gatling guns or browning 50 calibers. I was

browsing my favorite photo.net forums this AM with visions of Nikon D300s in my

mind (not this Christmas, but maybe Valentine's day depending on the detailed

reviews) when I read a comment on the D300 that indicated with the 14 bit

capture, the person filled up his memory card with "only" 700 photos in just one

morning. I then began to muse on how digital photography has changed my habits.

I do take photographs at a somewhat higher rate than with film, but I rarely

use automated bracketing, and I almost never use other than single frame

settings. I am a pure amateur, of course. I DO engage in "chimping" (just

learned what that meant, thank to this forum) but not to "ooh and aah" but to

check exposure, camera shake, and sometimes focus. I do engage in "instant

gratification" which usually means downloading onto the computer. Post

processing? Certainly, but since I always get my film results scanned along with

development, I PP digital and scanned film about the same (cropping,

straightening). Seven hundred photos in just one morning seems extreme to me.

How about you? And how have your photo methods and habits changed due to digital

(besides the obvious, like the necessity of computers).

My wishes for all of you to enjoy the holidays and for a glorious coming year to

enjoy our greatest gift, life on our increasingly fragile but still wonderful Earth.

Depends on what he was taking photos of I guess, but unless it was sports or a disaster in

the making, or assembly line portraits or fashion, it seems extreme to me too.

It's easy to take that may photos but difficult to edit them

Maybe reporting the number of shots rattled off in a short period time is replacing bragging

about the lens length of your lens as the "measure" of one's photographic manhood?