Lens for F3

chatchai_phothimanomai

<p>i've just gotten my F3 and i've never used Nikon before. I'm looking for a lens wide which fit to my F3. I've many choices.<br>

1. 35/2.8 NON-AI (quite old)<br>

2. 35/2.8 AIS<br>

3. 28/2.8 AIS<br>

4. 24/2.8 AF<br>

Which one do you think i should grab? i'm quite new about nikon. please suggest me. Actually i've no idea about how different between AI,AIS and NON-AI. i know it different just construction but i've no idea about their quality.</p>

<p>kind regards.</p>

<p>-Chatchai</p>

<p>Forget the non-AI - it will only meter in stop-down mode with the F3 - a major pain. Similarly, why put an AF lens - usually with a crappy little focusing ring - on a manual focus camera? AI and AI-S lenses will operate perfectly and identically with the F3, AI-S lenses have an extra little "notch" in the mount that only a couple of Nikon cameras register, and the F3 isn't one of these, so AI and AI-S lenses are effectively identical as far as the F3 is concerned. So it boils down to a 28 or a 35. If you want a general shooting lens, the 35 is the way to go, in my opinion. If you want a specific wide angle, then the 28 would be the choice. If you go with the 35, you should consider going for a 35/2 - not only is it brighter, but from everying I have read, it is much better optically than the 2.8.</p>

<p>What wide angle you wish to get will depend upon what lens you own now. I own both the 24 f/2.8 AI and the 35 f/1.4 AIS with my F3.</p>

<p>I had the 35 f/2.8 initially, and I HATED it. That lens will give you a very, very bad impression of the quality of Nikkor lenses. It was mechanically fine, as they all are. It was just very fuzzy in its imaging.</p>

<p>The 35 f/2 is very nice, but the 35 f/1.4 lets you really shoot in the dark. I'm still shooting Kodachrome for now, so the extra one stop in lens speed is helpful. Alas, poor K64... I knew him well.</p>