Lens for D90

Discussion in 'Nikon' started by ida_gatwood, Jan 19, 2010.

1. Hi,
    I'm buying a D90 and want recommendations for lens. I want a sharp lens. New to Nikon. Have done some research. I'm not very technical. Right now I do focused landscapes and street scenes. I'm open to 35 or 50 mm.
    Would like a high quality standard zoom. Would prefer to just buy one lens now. Willing to invest in a good lens.

2. No-brainer......Nikkor 24-70 f/2.8

3. 24-70mm is a little long for DX landscapes and street; try 17-55mm AF-S DX f/2.8.

4. i wouldnt say that's a no-brainer with a d90. ida, it's hard to recommend just one lens, because they all have pros and cons. the 24-70 is a good investment if you plan on going full-frame one day, but it's not very wide on DX, besides being very heavy. for landscape, the 16-85 VR is a winner on DX, but it's a little slow for street. the 17-55/2.8 is the best nikkor DX wide-to-mid zoom, but also somewhat heavy to carry around. the tamron 17-50 is equally sharp, and the lighter weight is a plus for street/hiking/travel, but but lacks AF-S and build quality of the 17-55.

5. ShunCheung

ShunCheung Administrator

We must have tons of threads on lenses for the D90. I have never used the 16-85 AF-S DX, but it is supposed to be very good. I think it is a bit pricy for a slow f5.6 lens on the 85mm end. If that doesn't bother you, it should be a good choice. Get the 17-55mm/f2.8 DX if you want a fast zoom.

6. Ahhh...the D90.....right....just saw that. I read too quickly. Yeah, I would agree....24 maybe not quite wide enough on the cropped sensor.
    I would agree the 17-55 f/2.8 would be a good choice on the DX sensor....
    MS

7. Also consider the Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 with high speed motor. (HSM)

8. if you are on a budget, you can look into the tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 or the sigma 18-50mm f/2.8.
    from the savings not getting the more expensive lenses like the 16-85mm and 17-55mm, you can get the 35mm f/1.8