Laptops for Photographers

I'm a beginner photographer and I'm getting into the digital aspect. I have a

computer now with photoshop 7 but it's old and been running real sluggish. I

want to buy a laptop but don't know what specifications to look for that will

benefit me as a photographer. I basically only use my computer for photos,

graphics, internet....

All I hear about it Apple's for this type of stuff, but I wanted to get another PC.

Any information would be great. Thanks in advance.

I have been a Mac user since 1985 (and still write fairly regularly for Macworld) but I use PCs and Macs these days, and you can do fine with either. The only decisive reason I can think of for a photographer to buy a Mac now is to be able to run Aperture, which runs only on the Mac OS. But I think Adobe Lightroom is as good as Lightroom and it will run on Windows or Mac.

Couple of things to consider.

First, don't get one of those shiny, ultrabrite screens. (They are given a different name by every company but I hope you know what I mean.) They're an abomination. They seem designed mainly to make the screens look sexy in the store. You do NOT want to have to stare at one of those screens for hours, or worry constantly about where your computer is positioned to avoid glare.

Second, make sure that your laptop has the ability to connect to an independent external display. Many laptops allow you to connect a mirrored display--a display that is simply a duplicate of what you see on your laptop's display. That is mainly for folks who are using their computers to run presentations. It's more useful for you to be able to buy a high-quality external display and have it show its own share of the desktop. You might not want to do this right away, but it's good to have this ability.