It is official, I really don't know anything at all

ejder

<p>Probably a rant post, but I feel like I have at last reached the point where I fully realize and accept that I don't know what I'm doing. I don't really know how to use off-camera lighting very well (though I have been doing it for several years), and my photos show inconsistency and lighting that is generally unsatisfactory to me during receptions and other indoor shoots. I really am not sure how to properly even use on-camera bounced flash anymore. On top of these things, I don't really know how to properly use the rules of composition, and I don't know how to "put together" a compelling composition with available elements using framing, angles and light.</p>

<p>Now that I have declared this to myself, maybe I can actually learn something.</p>

<p><strong>Moderator Note:</strong> Joey--we can't really help you unless you post an example of what you feel is lacking. Otherwise, is this just a rant? If so, please focus yourself to ask a specific question or two. It just sounds like you are having one of those lack of confidence moments, which affects everyone from time to time.</p>

<p>It's not really much of a help question, although a few of my current problems include balancing ambient with flash output during receptions, getting the primary nearby subjects exposed by bounced flash in a soft way without causing raccoon eyes or unpleasant lighting, and general use of off-camera flash. I know that sometimes what I do works pretty well, and other times it really doesn't work well at all. I don't know why it works when it does or doesn't work when it doesn't.</p>