Ignore your lcd?

<p>I love photography, and have grown up with film. I have been using digital for around 5-6 years. </p>

<p>Instead of spending time taking photos, instead what I find myself doing is taking a photo, and then stressing about my LCD to make sure that everything is perfect. </p>

<p>I'm thinking about covering my LCD for the next week so that I can enjoy the time of shooting photos without being tempted to look at the LCD. Or maybe I will just pick up a couple of rolls of film and borrow my grandfathers ELAN.</p>

<p>Do you ever find yourself too occupied by the LCD and "Chimping" ? What do you do to not be so tempted to look at every single picture?</p>

<p>I feel like it takes away from that moment when you see the actual photo and think to yourself, YEAH that's what I was looking for!</p>

<p>Ignore my LCD? Yes. In fact, it's covered with a Delkin folding hood. Like you, I grew up with film and I've just never felt the need to "chimp" after every shot. About the only time I open the hood is when I access the menu for card formatting, sensor cleaning, etc.</p>

<p>John - I do have the LCD shut off, my problem comes in that I am a perfectionist and it is just way too easy to hit that "play" button to make sure everything is perfect.</p>

<p>William - I think I may have to look at picking up the folding hood, I just need something that will take a little more effort than just hitting the play button I believe. At least at this point in my photography, every photo doesn't have to be "perfect".</p>

<p>Strictly speaking, "chimping" occurs when several people cluster around the photographer to view images on the LCD. This reflects the social behavior of apes. What the photographer does as an individual is something else altogether.</p>