If you had to sell...

By the time film become hard to find you'll long ago have discovered that your old R8/R9 digital is no longer being serviced by anyone. For that matter, the same will be true of today's Nikon and Canon digital cameras.

Sell both, get a Leicaflex SL or SL2, and enjoy a quality SLR.

I don't think film will really be scarce some day. Without going down to that discussion

now, I saw lots of people selling their Vinyl-Collection and now crying because digital is

the more short-term-medium....

So, no interest in the digital back.

Al, I get your point but that wasn't the question. Maybe later I will sell the other one, too

and go for a rangefinder system. And Grant, as a musician I own a pretty big quality

german car that serves me damn good! ;):)

Thanks for your responses so far. I think my question here will raise the same pros and

cons that dance inside my head before posting. I'll see....

Markus, don't get this wrong... learn to see the future. Sell the R6, keep the R8, just <b>in case</b> you eventually, probably and however remotely... decide to go digital. If I had to eat crow for every time I said "I'll never do this or that" I'd be beyond full... But I learned on time to follow advice. Have a nice week!

If you are selling because you only want/need/can afford a single SLR body then I'd stick strictly to personal preference. I've kept (so far) my R8 because I have two Ms and that keeps me nicely in the street/unobtrusive line of photography, where the R6 would be a better bet. The R8 is a very nice body - not to everyone's taste - but if you can get on with it, then it has its uses.

If you are selling because you are worried about the demise of film then stop fretting. I can see no reason why it should disappear. B/W has survived for 20 years as a miniscule part of the imaging world, with no apparent decline in choice of films, paper or chemicals.