How to unload the unwind roll films - CONTAX RTS

Hi all,

I am relatively new to film cameras, I am still learning using a film camera. More often use DSLR. I just spent my quarantine days taking a roll of 36 photos with CONTAX RTS. When I got to my last picture and about to unload the film, I mistook the rewind direction (I turn the film winder into the wrong/reverse direction), and sadly I forgot to push the rewind button (double mistake :( I know...)

Because I don't know the situation inside the camera, unfortunately, I have to open to see what's going on inside and see that I tore my film a bit on the edge. But the things, after I press the rewind button and try to rewind it again correctly, the film is still not moving :( do you guys know why?

I am worried and terrified that I might damage the film winder or the rewind button machine because early I forgot to press the button meanwhile rewind the film? So, the next step... What is the best thing that can I do to unload the unwind roll films and not damage the camera + the rest of the picture...

I am clueless and really need your advice... Thank you

1orYk.png

You probably ripped out the holes that engage the rewind sprocket so when you do the rewind correctly there is nothing to engage. You can open the camera in TOTAL darkness or a changing bag. Use the center of the film cartridge to manually rewind a bit to bypass the damage, put the roll back, engaging the sprocket by touch, close the camera and rewind. If there are photo shops in your vicinity, a better choice might be to have it done by someone who has been there before. Be sure to remove any film chips from the camera before use. Good Luck!

Hi all,