How to get the most rich, deep colors

I'm new to photography so this is probably a dumb question. When I look at my

pictures and then look at the pictures of other people mine always seem very

washed out. The colors are no where near as vivid and engaging.

Is this caused by: the way I shoot, what I shoot, that fact that I don't post

process the images with photoshop, all of the above?

There isn't much detail in your question, but I think you're talking about contrast and saturation. If you have a digital camera you might want to adjust the default settings, or possibly pick a "picture style" like my 5D's "Landscape" that does it for you. Or you just might need to bump up the contrast and saturation a little.

On the other hand, your photos might be natural while the others are horrendously oversaturated. Try adding a little bit of extra contrast and saturation using suitable software. But I do mean a little. Usually 5% extra saturation is maximum otherwise you can get problems with false colours. Another trick worth trying is Unsharp Mask around 20% and 50 radius.

If you are printing direct from the camera try adjusting the camera contrast and saturation settings. Probably somewhere under Menu. But once again, don't overdo it.

As others have said, more detail about how and what you shoot would help. Could you post some examples? Someone would likely take a sample and process it to see what is possible.

My advice would be to shoot Raw to get all the information possible to start; use a good Raw processor; make sure your monitor is calibrated; play with a good editing program like a version of Photoshop, or Paint Shop Pro, or Picture Window Pro to learn how to enhance contrast, saturation, and sharpness until you are satisfied. Do everything in 16 bit as long as you can. Make sure your web stuff is in sRGB in the end.

Don't over do it.

Don't do too little.

Make it just right.