how to earn a living in photography

vani_malley

I have a question for the pros in the field.. How can I earn a living /

be successful in photography (studio, wedding, child photography)?

Or, it is only just for the very few like a professional athelete,

where only a handful make it to the top, and rest are just struggling.

Strange as it may seem, I've been an engineer (electrical, chip design with a

masters degree in engineering) worked for 10 yrs, about $100K+ salary. But now

quit my job this year to be with my little kids. I have a serious passion for

photography..

My husband is supportive and lets me do whatever I want to do. I don't have

too much pressure (from my husband) to make equavalent money in photography,

but I want to succeed. I want to get into studio photography, after

shooting with Nikon D70, mostly my kids were the subjects, and I am into

digital retouching, digital graphic design, putting together albums, web

design, digital scrapbooking for my own pleasure that I did for friends/ family

So far it is just for fun and because I want to learn. The photography

has become a passion that I can't seem to get it off my mind.

I have just ordered the course from NYIP. I'm looking for any suggestions

and encouragement from this forum, and I'm hoping more people are actually

making decent money. The average salary seems to be $30K which is quite

depressing, but again I am not interested in working for someone and doing

something I don't like.. I might as well go back to engineering. I'm

looking into succeeding at my own business in studio and wedding/event

photography. Learn the photography skills to produce consistent results

in studio and outdoors, and do the marketing and get good at it.

I am now getting more training and reading books for the techinical

knowledge. I do understand business, my experience as Applications engineer

taught me how to work under pressure, and how to make the customer