How do you dry your film

hello all,

I have a question - do any of you shutter bugs out there ,that do

your own film processing ,have a personal method for drying your

film?

I develop my film myself -try-x these days- but I like to scan

and see my pic's as soon as possible. So I let the film dry for

about an hour and then I use a blow dryer to excelarate the process .

Does anyone of you do the same thing? is it a bad idea for me to

hurry the drying process a little?

also I don't use a hardener.

what do you think?

jon

I've never used a hair dryer to speed up drying (and I'm a woman with plenty of hair dryers) but I wouldn't rule it out in an emergency; I always use hardener for film but not for paper. I've been developing film for 33 years.

No hardener is the prefered way (at least for me).

<br><br>

I wouldn't use the blow dryer as it sounds like a good way to blow extra dust or dirt on your wet negs. Don't think it would damage the emulsion, so if you don't mind dust then go for it. Of course some things that stick to the negs could eventually lead to scratches if you try cleaning then off.

<br><br>

Best and simplest way is to just hang 'em up for a few hours in a moderately warm and clean room or closet. If the space is too cold, get a small space heater (w/o a fan) and put it on a low temp setting or I've even known people to use a lamp (with a tungsten bulb) to add heat (just don't get it too close to the hanging negs).<br><br>

Also, clip some small weight (like a clothes pin) to the bottom of the neg when they hang. Letting then dry like this will also help prevent the film from curling.