How do you ask permission to take a photograph?

Over the weekend, I was walking by a coffeeshop near Gramercy Park,

and there was a woman sitting on a bench with two dogs. One a TINY

TINY TINY terrier, about the size of a soda can, the other a huge

black-and-white mutt. I thought it was a hilarious photograph: the

lady's paper, legs, and both dogs.

I decided to ask permission. I walked up, gently and sweetly

said "Excuse me, you have an adorable dog. I'm a photography student,

would you mind if I took a photograph?"

She said no. I'd never asked someone if I could take a photograph

before and I felt really shut down and embarrassed.

Not to mention I missed a funny photograph.

How do you go about asking in these kinds of situations? Did I do

something terribly wrong?

I was using a Stylus Epic and I looked like I belonged there - not

like a tourist - jeans and a backpack, no camera bag. She was a few

years older than I am but no older than 30 I'd say.

• Replies 83
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Take a deep breath... it's ok. I woudn't sweat it. You were polite, asked, and followed through. At that point all you can say is "Ok, have a nice day" and move on. At least you had the courtesy to actually come up and ask as opposed to just snapping the picture from a distance.

Remeber there could be millions of reasons a 20 something would not want to be photographed, I would bet it had nothing to do with you specifically.