How do I eliminate the shadows in my jewelry pictures?

<p>Hi all!<br>

I'm new to the forum but am told it's a great place for photography advice. I'm a jewelry designer about to launch my new website but the big hurdle I'm facing is photographing everything. I went to a camera store to ask for assistance and they told me my current camera (Canon powershot digital elph with a macro setting that allows me to adjust the white balance) would work just fine. I also have a lighting tent kit that came with two lights. I was told to find the darkest room and use those two lights to photograph the jewelry. I've done that and the pictures are very detailed and look decent but I'm having an issue with shadows...how do I eliminate the shadows in this situation? Do I need another light? Do I need different lightbulbs? Also, I would like to be able to take pictures any time of the day as I'm not always home during daylight hours. I can post a picture later but mainly the shadows are underneath the jewelry (should I try to light it from underneath as well as the sides?)<br>

I'm not a photographer so any advice would be most welcome! Thank you so much!<br>

Andrea</p>

<p> </p>

<p>Thanks for the quick response! I have one of those exact lightboxes which I bought on Amazon --here's a link to the pics I've taken with it and you'll see the shadow dilemma.</p>

<p>

<a href="http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.2208275132269.130714.1409179463&l=cbd1ce4048">http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.2208275132269.130714.1409179463&l=cbd1ce4048</a>

</p>

<p>In the very similar business of artifact photography in archaeology it has been traditional to use back light from underneath through a raised opal (or diffuse) glass. You have to adjust the top lights for detail, but the light from from below, if balanced correctly, will eliminate shadows underneath.<br>

Experimentation is the key since every object will have its own needs for angles, and the like</p>