Help please. Canon 50mm 1.4 or 85mm 1.8

ron_brown6

<p>I need a good Prime lens for my 400D for shooting some good closeup and portraits. I'm not a professional photographer so I can't afford more than a few hundred dollars. I'm stuck between a 50mm 1.4 and a 85mm 1.8. If any professionals or anyone with any knowledge of these two lenses could help with a little advice or opinion, I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks all.....</p>

<p>You can come close to the EF 50mm f/1.4 lens -- which <em>is</em> a very fine lens-- for much less money, if that's a problem. At least look at the EF 50mm f/1.8 (the "Plastic Fantastic"). It looks cheap, is cheap, and is both durable and a fine shooter, especially on an APS-C body. It can be bought used, usually, for under US$100 on eBay or slightly more with some guarantee from KEH, B&H, or Adorama and such.</p>

<p>Also consider the other lenses you mention in good used condition. I personally would find the 85mm f/1.8 a little long for day-in-and-out portraiture on APS-C, but that's partly a matter of taste.</p>

<p>The 400D sports a CMOS senor chip that measures 14.8mm x 22.2mm. If we mount a lens about equal to the diagonal measure of this rectangle, we realize what is termed as a normal view. For this camera, that is about 25mm. If we mount a longer lens, we get more magnification (telephoto). If we mount a shorter lens, we enter into the realm of wide-angle. Note that the kit zoom usually sold with this camera has a zoom focal length of 18 - 55mm. Note the approximate center of the zoom range is 25mm.</p>