Health Insurance for photographers in United States

mimi_zhou

<p>I am considering moving to the United States from Canada, for the sake of my relationship. I am not sure where we would eventually stay, for now, probably somewhere in the New England area.<br>

I am quite new to the photography business, but would like to stay in the business after the move. I know the economy seems bleak, but my main concern is the cost of health care. How much does a freelance photographer have to pay annually, on average?<br>

I know that I could probably get covered by my partner through work, but what are the other options, especially if I would like to stay as independent as possible?<br>

I found that it already costs a lot to purchase equipment, to maintain a studio and to advertise. I just cannot imagine on top of everything else there is health insurance cost. Do you just simply charge more to cover this cost? Are you constantly afraid of getting sick, at risk of losing your business because of it?<br>

I don't want to get all political here, but it baffles me that universal health care is still something that requires debating.<br>

Any response would be great help! For better or for worse, it will ease my anxiety. Thanks in advance.</p>

<p> </p>