Hanimex 200mm on Praktica Nova I

<p>I bought this lens off Ebay for BP6.00, last week. It had a dent in the filter ring; quite a deep one. Managed remove it [somewhat!] and painted the scratches. Otherwise the lens seems Okay. It is a pre-set lens, made in Japan for Hanimex for their Prakticas. It is 5.5 ins long and heavy. I am still learning to handle and focus it. My struggle will be obvious from the pictures!<br>

Despite that handicap the lens seems good. It helped take pictures of things and people without being noticed. As the lens was big I took most of the pictures from inside the car by resting the lens on a cushion. A small bean bag would be good for this, I think. The pictures are on ORWO film ASA100 and home brew.</p><div>00XJqD-282321584.jpg.4ed9e780c08ec0206a7a5602352b8a00.jpg</div>

<p>There is a kind of territorial war between Pepsi and Coca cola companies. They both provide coolers for retailers to store and sell drinks, not always their drinks. Recent times they have bought good cold drink companies only to close them down and open their own factories and processing plants in place.</p><div>00XJqk-282339584.jpg.a3a8abd264b2107bcb6a066c8ab22186.jpg</div>

<p>Very nice. I especially like the "bicycle repair" and "chat" pictures, even though the negatives might be considered a bit thin. What you do have here, as in other examples, is a nice range of tones in the deep shadows.</p>

<p>Hanimex did sell in the USA, but I rarely saw anything of theirs offered when I was in the deepest part of my Praktica "frenzy". It's certainly a good buy at only £6. My longer lenses are heavily tilted toward another obsession: Spiratone when they're not Zeiss Jena or Meyer ;)</p>