Greetings from Helmetta, NJ

jaydesi

<p>Hi All,</p>

<p>When I graduated from college in 1996, I bought myself a Canon Rebel XS, and loved it, even though I didn't really understand how to use it effectively. The expense of film and processing (as a low-paid recent grad) quickly overcame my desire to learn by trial and error, and the camera sat in its bag in the closet.</p>

<p>I've been using point and shoot digital cameras for a while, and liked the ability to take many pictures, review them instantly, and try something different if the shot didn't turn out well. But I remembered the versatility of my SLR, and definitely missed it. A couple months ago, I took the plunge and upgraded to the Rebel T1i/500D, since I didn't want to pass up the opportunity to reuse the lens on my old camera. What a difference! I am so happy with this camera, it's everything I wanted in my film SLR but couldn't afford to do.</p>

<p>I've been reading extensively in the learning section here, and have bought or ordered several recommended books. I also picked up David Busch's book on my camera specifically, because having guidance regarding the features that my camera has and how to find them is more useful to me at this point.</p>

<p>One thing that I really had wanted to get into was macro photography, so I am looking forward to getting into that, as well. I'll be posting shortly in the Beginner Forums with my current equipment looking for other suggestions to round out my collection, so to speak.</p>

<p>Thanks for the great forum and website, it's very educational and seems to be a friendly, supportive group!</p>