fx vs dx for wildlife

apurva_jain

<p>Hello.. i am a beginner at wildlife photgraphy and wanna upgrade my gear. I have two options. Nikon D7200 or Nikon D750, one being the dx and other fx. I know that normally the fx camera will produce better images but do the modern day dx lack behing that much??? Also is it same to shoot with dx (crop factor of 1.5x) or cropping the image to 1.5x from fx in post procesing? Money not being a factor what would you suggest? Thanx in advance. :-)</p>

<p>I shoot Canon rather than Nikon, but the issues are the same. I shoot both full frame (fx) and crop sensor (DX).</p>

<p>IMHO, a very important issue for wildlife is pixel density, which determine how many pixels you will get on the subject at a given distance with a given focal length. This is really what is at issue when people write about the "reach" of a body. the two you are considering have similar pixel counts, so the DX has a much higher pixel density. That means that for wildlife, for any given number of pixels on the animal, you will need a much longer lens (1.5x) with the FX camera.</p>

<p>FF has some advantages. All other things being equal, FF cameras handle low light somewhat better. Given a sufficiently high-quality lens, they will produce more detailed images, which will be apparent if you print large but probably not if you don't. The downsides are that they cost more, are bigger and heavier, and require longer, heavier, more expensive lenses for a given amount of reach.</p>

<p>The exception would be a high-pixel-count FF camera, which would let you crop and retain a lot of pixels on the subject.</p>

<p>This is why many wildlife photographers use crop-sensor cameras and why they were so impatient for the new crop models recently released by both Canon and Nikon.</p>