Football Photography and D700...

photojen

<p>I am going to be taking photos at a Western Mass Warriors football game tomorrow. It's a charity game for the Springfield Massachusetts Shriner's Hospital for Children. I am doing this because it's a good cause, and my son is a patient at the hospital. I am somewhat nervous because I am shooting, for the first time, an event with my D700. I have been practicing with moving people and focusing and so forth. But, I struggle with the focusing part, which is huge. I am considering shooting with my D80, because I am comfortable with it and I know the camera well. I am asking you fellow Nikon users for some guidance. I would like to shoot with my D700, and am looking for some suggestions or tips on shooting football players in action. I am a nature photographer at heart...so, shooting at an athletic event will be challenging for me. I would appreciate any advice that could be given to me pertaining to shooting. The coach knows I am a rookie. I would appreciate it if no one would try to talk me out of doing this event, or statements about why I am doing this~ it's a done deal, and for a good cause. I have a Nikon 70-200mm and a Nikon 24-70mm and a SB900. I will be on the field and have access to any area. My son is going to be doing the coin toss from his wheel chair and made an honorary team captain, team jersey and all. I am excited, yet very nervous all at the same time. Thank you.</p>

<p>Sounds like it'll be fantastic! I understand your nervousness, wanting to do your best.<br>

If you can get it right I assume the D700 AF system is a lot better than the D80, and certainly the image quality will be way above it, though your 70-200 will maybe be a little short for some shots due to the lack of crop on the D700.<br>