Flat or Grey Negatives...?

mfs

Hello,

I have searched the site here and I think I found some reasonable

answers to my questions; I just wanted to verify.

I am a student photographer and I'm having issues with my

negatives. It started out with bad negatives due to the loading of

the film onto the reels. I now use Hewes brand and have no problems

with that. Then I get these negatives that, to me, seem to have

really great detail in them but they are a really grey color.

I'm just not sure what to do. I use Ilford Hp5 400 and I set the

ISO to 200. The film was shot in daylight with decent lighting and

great cloud coverage. I have a Pentax V spot meter that I believe

to be calibrated correctly and I use that for my meter readings...

I don't want to bother anyone with a novel of my problems but I'm

just confused I guess. Is a "grey" negative due to exposure

problems, developing issues, or perhaps a combination?

I appreciate any help and/or suggestions

-Michael-

Hi Andrew,

I use the schools stock of D-76, I believe, and I run it through for Ilfords standard 11 minutes at 68 degrees.

The spot meter is a new thing for me as I just got it about a month ago so I'm still trying to master it. I look through the lens and put the object in the 1 degree circle and then activate the meter. I use this number and match it up to the ring of combinations on the meter. This meter apparently was calibrated for use with the Zone System and I try to follow along with it the best I can. I take the number, say 12, and line that up with the zone V scale on the meter and either move it up or down depending on which zone I'm looking to place it in.

I thought that I was doing it correctly because it seems that the negatives are full of detail...just no contrast. The negatives and the contact sheets have no whites or blacks just a light to dark grey tone.

Do you have a set of contrast filters?

I would try a 3 or 3 1/2 and see if it improves the image.