Film Comparison

Hi I'm a new photographer, taking a class in college. With the

packet of supplies that we bought at the beginning of the semester,

we got something like 12 rolls of Tri-X 400. I have one roll left,

and I've been looking into buying more film. Sure I can buy that

stuff anywhere. But I was looking online to see if I could get it

discounted and started wondering what was compatible to it in Agfa,

Fugi, etc? Because some of them are cheaper when buying in bulk.

And being a starving college student, I pinch pennies. I wanted to

know if any of those could be developed just the same way as the Tri-

X.

I was also thinking about working with something other than ISO 400,

something slower. I hear you can get some great shots with 50-65.

Where can I get that stuff? or should I just wait because it's

going to cost a good chunk of money?

The cheapest film comes in 100 ft bulk rolls, but you need a bulk film loader and reloadable cassettes. Check on-line at B&H Photo for good prices on film, especially gray market Kodak film.

Ilford FP4+ is an excellent medium speed film (ISO 125). I also like Ilford Pan F+ which is an ISO 50 speed film.

Tri-X @ B&H is cheap, they have 3 flavors. 1. Made in USA for USA, 2. made in USA for outside the USA, 3. made somewhere else. You want 2. as it's much cheaper than 1. at the same quality but only slightly more expensive than 3. which is of unknown or variable quality.

Go to a photo lab and see if they'll give you some of their cassettes that have already been through the machine. There will be about 1/4 of an inch sticking out. When bulk loading butt the two ends together (not overlapping) and then use a piece of scotch tape to wrap them together. Tape on the top and wrap each side under. Then load away. You can then bulk load an entire 100' at a time if you have enough cassettes. I use them once and then pitch them. Nothing I found beats this for bulk loading.

Check into Ilford HP5+, also- great film.