Do FD-EF adaptors make for poor images?

lisa_swartz

<p>Hello! I am a beginner-intermediate photographer in need of new lenses. Being a cash-strapped teenager however, I was looking into buying older, used FD lens (specifically looking at 50mm and 24mm primes) and getting an adaptor to make them fit my Canon rebel t5 eos 1200d. It would save me a lot of money, however I am obviously only interested if the adapter won't negatively affect my images. Thoughts? Anyone have experience with this, or could recommend a good adaptor?</p>

<p>Note: There was another question very similar to this posted in 2012, but new adaptors or new insight may have taken place in the past four years. </p>

<p>The laws of physics haven't changed. The flange distance, this is the distance between the film/sensor and the bayonet is shorter for the FD system so an adapter would need to have a negative length. As a result EOS-FD adapters come in two kinds: With optical elements, these degrade image quality or without optics where you loose infinity focus. Occasionally I use FD lenses on an EOS-M but focussing and exposure are a bit of a hassle.<br /> Fifty mm lenses are inexpensive. Perhaps have a look at Nikon or M42 lenses with an adapter.</p>

<p>Additionally, in case you are not aware of these other details:</p>

<p>> although there are some adapters with a “focus confirmation chip” which permits the use of EOS cameras' focus confirmation functionality – note that Manual Focus is employed (i.e. NOT Auto Focus)</p>

<p>> I am not aware of any FD to EF adapter which maintains the automatic lens control from the camera to the lens. This means Manual Mode is usually best used for shooting</p>

<p>> (probably more important to note) “Stop-down Metering” should be employed if you want to use the TTL meter for exposure guidance</p>