Define street photography vs photojournalism

ralph_wilson

Street photography is a new term to me since I am new to Photonet.

This is the first time I've heard it labeled, however I have seen

examples of it for years. My question is how does it differ from what

I shoot on a regular basis for the newspaper. I think what is adding

to the confusion are the discussions I've seen about how to be

inconspicious or shoot without a person's permission. I never hide my

camera. Most people assume I don't want a photograph of them and

ignor me. I almost always get their names and info AFTER the image

has been created. After all 30,000 people are going to see it with

their coffee the next morning. I run into very little resistance but

that may be because I'm in a small town environment. So there are

some examples at http://www.rwphoto.com/street I'd like to get some

opinions as to what qualifies and what doesn't. Thanks

Good idea, Ralph. You draw the fire and it'll give me a chance to escape. ;-)

OK...I'm going to be brave. I'm going to risk getting rotten tomatoes thrown at me when I answer your question because I'll inevitably get the answer wrong.

Like you, my only experience with the term "street photography" is what I've seen on Photo.net. I'd never heard of the subject before visiting this forum.

How does it differ from photojournalism? (this is where I'm going to get blasted) . . .

From what I've gathered from this forum, I'd say that street shots are usually taken on the sidewalk, parking lot or other public place. They are either grab shots or planned shots. (so far, the description is much the same as some photojournalism pics, right?)