hangers around all the time so I was thinking that might be worth a

shot. So hear are my basic questions for every one

1)has any one used those hangers in tanks and what was your

experience with them?

2) Dose any one have any ideas how to get more even and consistent

development out of my daylight tank, or recommend another daylight

tank they use?

3) Would developing times for films in hangers increase or decrease

compared to tray or daylight tank processing?

Thank you all very much

Dave

I've been doing 4x5 for about two months now. I tray develop and find for me that 8x10 trays work quite well, better than 5x7. I keep the negatives in the lower left corner of the tray and aggitate with my right hand.

I've done some zone system testing recently and found noticable scratches only on one in twenty or so negs. That's one more than I'd like but I can live with it. Not sure if your work can allow for that. I found that many of my scratches were coming from the wash where the negs were bouncing around a little in a too large tray. I've since seperated the negs in 5x7 trays for washing and the scratch problem dropped dramatically. I also found that processing emulsion side down made a big difference. I think that's not standard procedure, but I read it somewhere and it works for me.

I'll be interested to hear answers to your question since I'd consider any approach. However, I hope in the mean time that the washing or emulsion suggestion helps you in some way.

mac

David,