D850 Video Questions

joseph_smith3

I have just started to take movies of birds at my feeders with my Nikon D850. My purpose is to get some short videos to email to friends. My test videos were taken at the default setting and the file size was huge and I could not send it. What settings do you recommend to produce smaller file sizes? Are Mp4 videos smaller than MOV videos?

This is my first attempt at taking videos on any Nikon body. I have a D800e and D 810 and D500 too.

Even low-quality video files are huge. Sending them as a e-mail attachment is not practical unless it is super short.

I typically shoot 4K video only, and my rule of thumb is 1G per minute. You can upload to YouTube, perhaps at lower quality. FaceBook is another possibility. Set the appropriate privacy setting so that only your intended audience can watch. Otherwise, there are large-file transfer services such as DropBox, etc. etc.

• Like 1

Joseph - what other software do you have available? Capturing at a reasonable quality from the camera and then transcoding to a specified frame rate, bit rate and resolution would let you tune things. More modern codecs also compress better (h.265 can fit the same quality in less space than h.264, for example).

Just as an example, I have posted before (to the Nature Forum) this link to FaceBook about a whale watching video I captured in Baja California, Mexico earlier this year:

The original 4k, 20-second MP4 video clip is about 320M, captured with a Z6. I uploaded that to FaceBook, which automatically compresses it to various quality. The playback quality will depend on the bandwidth of your device. For example, if you watch it without WiFi on a mobile phone, you will probably get a very low-quality version. At home with broadband, you will see a higher quality video.

Edited by ShunCheung