confused about dilution

i'm a total beginner at developing black&white; i've only taken one

short course. i bought a jessops econodev and the instructions say

that the dilution for normal speed is 1+12, and for high speed is

1+9. the stopper says 1+10, and the fixer says 1+4/1+9. how much of

each should i mix with, for ex. 1 litre of water? and what do they

mean by capacity: 2.3(normal speed) and 2.9(high speed)? sorry if

the questions seem kind of dull, but i really need help. thx.

for 1+9 (10% final strength) add 100ml of chemical solution to 900ml of water for final volume of 1000ml. I recall that when making "percentage" solutions from dry chemicals you add 100 grams of chemical to a FINAL volume of 100ml water to make a 100% solution of that chemical-- this is because 100 ml of distilled water weighs 100 grams.

Note that you never start with the final volume of water when mixing dry chemicals in water, always a bit less, generally about 10% less than the final volume. NOTE THAT YOU ALSO NEVER NEVER ADD WATER TO YOUR CHEMICAL solutions! Always add the chemical mix to the water so that there are not issues with overheating of the solutions which could cause dangerous splattering of any strong chemicals.

If we assume you are developing a 35mm film in a Paterson tank, normally 300ml of fluid is used. So if your developer requires you to use a dilution of 1:12, then the total sum is 13. Divide the 300 by 13 which gives you 23.07. You therefore need 23.07ml of developer and 276.93 of water. To make it alot easier, create a working solution of 312ml. Then you need 24ml developer and 288ml of water.

Developers at 1:9 = 10; divide 300 by 10 = 30. 30ml of developer and 270ml of water.

The same method is used for the stop and fix.

1:4 = 5. 300/5 = 60. 60ml fix + 240ml water

1:10 = 11; 300/11 = 27.27ml stop + 272.73ml water. For easy calculation use 308ml of working solution, this way you use 28ml stop + 280ml water.