Circles in photos - what are they?

notre_poubelle

<p>Hi,</p>

<p>I recently bought a Lumia 1020 to get as good as possible photo experience on a smartphone. I'm no expert in photography (as will be apparent) but generally I'm quite happy with the Lumia 1020. </p>

<p>On some photo I've noticed some odd circles. I've linked one picture as an example.</p>

<p>https://www.dropbox.com/s/37bhpo6kvz5m9tq/picture_with_circles.png?dl=0</p>

<p>I've blacked out the child's face for privacy. If you look near the child's head, there is a large circle. There's two more smaller circles on the opposite wall (not as obvious). These circles are not reflections from the balloons, as the same thing happened in other pictures (that did not have balloons). I did have the flash on, for what it is worth. Not all pictures exhibited this problem, but many did (and the flash was on for all these photos). I didn't see the spots on the same place on all my pictures.</p>

<p>Any ideas?</p>

<p>Thank you,<br>

Notre<br>

PS I asked the same question on a different forum, but as this site is more dedicated to photos, I wanted to get people's opinion here as well. http://forums.windowscentral.com/nokia-lumia-icon/323240-discolored-circle-photos.html</p>

<p>I've got a Lumia 920, and never had this kind of problem - since it's running the same software, I think it can be excluded probably.<br>

It is a problem I've seen with my compact camera though (which is worse than the Lumia btw) - and well, cleaning the lens often helps quite a bit; dust particles. It happens more with flash on that camera too, maybe because of reflections? I've never succeeded in finding a proper explanation (so curious to learn!) but in my case, it happens more frequently with a lens that has some dirt on it.</p>