Choosing low technology EOS camera.

camerart

Hi,

My first proper camera was Pentax ME super film camera (I still have a couple of them). I really enjoyed using it, it was perfect for me, and I took 1000s of photos. I studied photography, including the Zone system and had a 1/2 plate camera and enlarger, a weston light meter, and processed my films/paper, which I really enjoyed.

I then bought an EOS600 film camera, and hardly used it because it was too complicated. Not learning my lesson, I bought an EOS600D plus two nice lenses, and the same happened, although it takes lovely photos.

What would suit me better is to have the same type of technology of the ME super, but will take my EOS lenses.

Is there a simple digital camera, I assume Canon, that is as small as possible, while also having a light meter, and minimal extras with either an APS-H or better 35mm sensor, please?

Cheers, Camerart.

You can just put it in the green Auto modes until you are ready to start learning aperture, shutter speed and ISO and how/why you should choose the different settings. The 600D has all the Auto Dial settings for setups for portraits (Face), landscape (Mountains), macro (Flower), action (Running guy)... It doesn't get easier. Just go to YouTube and search how to use the 600D. The Canon Rebels are a great entry level DSLR to learn on or just use in Auto modes.

There are the Canon mirrorless or a Sony A7 with an adaptor for EF or EF-S lenses, they are smaller bodies, but they are going to be just as complex if not using in Auto modes.

Cheers, Mark